A 20-foot spring-fed waterfall with an easy mile-long hike, part of Idaho's Thousand Springs State Park system.
$7/day motor vehicle entry fee (waived with Idaho State Parks Passport)
Loading current conditions…
Based on this listing's approximate location — see the note on coordinates below.
Box Canyon Springs Falls is a 20-foot waterfall fed by natural springs, accessed via a one-mile hike through Idaho State Parks’ Thousand Springs facility near Hagerman. The falls sits within the Earl M. Hardy Box Canyon Springs Nature Preserve, one of several day-use units that make up the larger Thousand Springs State Park.
Entry requires a $7 per-vehicle day-use fee, though visitors with an Idaho State Parks Passport can enter free. Dogs are permitted on the trail. The official state park page does not specify whether the one-mile description refers to a one-way or round-trip walk to the falls, so visitors should allow extra time or contact the park directly for clarification.
The springs themselves feed into the Snake River canyon system, creating a reliable water source even during lower-flow periods. This area is part of southern Idaho’s geothermal springs landscape, where groundwater emerges from aquifers beneath the plain. As with other Thousand Springs units, no closure notices were found as of the most recent check.
Year-round; spring offers peak water flow.
Part of the Thousand Springs State Park system near Hagerman; visitors may also explore other units.
$7/day motor vehicle entry fee (waived with Idaho State Parks Passport)
Via a 1-mile round-trip trail rated easy by the managing agency.
Yes, per the managing agency's own page — but check current leash rules before you go.
We track 8 waterfalls in Snake River Plain.
There are 2 other waterfalls we track in Gooding. All Snake River Plain waterfalls →
parksandrecreation.idaho.gov
Idaho State Parks official page for Thousand Springs State Park (Earl M. Hardy Box Canyon Springs Nature Preserve unit) and Visit Idaho official tourism page, checked 2026-09-04. Trail described only as a 'mile-long hike'; not specified whether one-way or round trip. A different unit of the same park (Kelton Trail) was noted closed through 2026-09-05 — unrelated to Box Canyon, which had no closure listed.
Checked September 2026.